Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Newbie here

Newbie here

Hi all. Im new to all this stuff but have been interested in it for years. I have just bought a Kyosho calibre 30 with loads of bits. Is this a good heli and are parts easily got for it. I haven't even got the thing yet but should be with me early next week so I will be enoying the hell out of yous lol. Cheers, Declan.

Welcome to the site.

I bought one for my nephew to build... They're an old heli and I think you'll struggle to find parts for it, which means it's not an ideal first heli, as pretty much everyone crashes in the early stages. That said, if you don't crash it, it's a fun little heli.

Established Member
    welcome to the site Declan.

its not a matter of "if" you crash its a case of "when".sorry to be the bearer of bad news .

parts may well be hard to source but google is a big place so if you find somewhere be sure to bookmark it.

it probably would be a good idea to get yourself a decent sim and practice like mad on it to you can hover confidently enough or if you cant wait that long do as I did and bought a small electric heli to learn on,less scary than a nitro to start with and much cheaper to repair....and if you can hover a small electric heli the the bigger ones will be a complete doddle.

good luck with it all bud.

PS
    if your buying it 2nd hand be sure to go through every nut and bolt to make sure all is good and do a complete set up again for your own transmitter.NEVER take any heli as a "ready to fly" it simply doesn't exist mate.
    Last edited by gubber12345; 21-11-2013 at 08:00 PM.

Good advice there... You should always rebuild a second-hand heli. My first 700n only needed a radio when I bought it, but after stripping it down and replacing what needed replacing, it would have been nearly as cheap to buy a new heli.